Are certain foods like guar gum, vinegar, canola oil and oats okay for a gluten-free diet?
Guar gum and canola oil are both okay for people on a gluten-free diet. Vinegar, provided that it is not malt, is also gluten-free. Oats themselves are gluten-free, however, the problem is the way that they are milled, and as of yet, there are not effective methods to prevent cross-contamination from other wheat grains in the milling process. At Foods By George, all of the ingredients we use are completely gluten-free and at our 100% gluten-free facility, there is virtually no chance for cross-contamination.