Can a mage with One-College-Only Magery learn spells with prerequisites outside that college?

0
Posted

Can a mage with One-College-Only Magery learn spells with prerequisites outside that college?

0

To learn a spell, a character must have all the prerequisites for that spell. Magery is often not a requirement to learn a spell, and some spells have no prerequisites at all — anyone can learn them. To cast a spell, the character must know the spell, and have Magery in that college or be in a High Mana Zone. The rules for a mage with One-College-Only Magery (p. CI39) are no different. He can learn a spell outside that college, provided he meets all prerequisites for that spell. (If that spell requires Magery, he can not learn it, because his One-College-Only Magery does not apply outside the one college.) To cast that spell, he will need to find a High Mana Zone. Once learned, the spell may be used to fulfill prerequisites for other spells. EXAMPLE: A mage with One-College-Only Magery in the Illusion college could learn and cast Illusion spells normally. If he wants to learn the Phantom spell (p. G57), he would need Magery 2 in the Illusion college, Perfect Illusion, Hinder, and Appo