Does mozzarella cheese and fetta cheese contain rennet?
A Rennet is an enzyme generally derived from the stomach of killed calves, although it can be produced from non-animal sources too. Slowly more manufacturers are choosing to use non-animal rennet in their cheese. To find out what type of rennet has been used in a particular product you would have to contact the manufacturer. So to answer your question the answer is “yes, mozzarella and fetta cheese can contain rennet”, but you would have to contact the manufacturer to find out whether it is non-animal or animal derived. I believe ‘Italiano Perfect’ make a light mozzarella cheese with non-animal rennet.