How are limits on multiple purchases enforced?
To successfully enforce limits on multiple handgun purchases it is important that retail handgun sales be reported to a state or national law enforcement office and that those records be computerized and maintained for at least 30 days. Pennsylvania’s legislation would require the reporting of all retail handgun sales to the Pennsylvania State Police. Before a handgun can be sold in Pennsylvania, the dealer must call the State Police and ascertain whether the buyer has bought another handgun within the past 30 days. Maryland’s law operates on a similar basis. After 30 days, the purchase indicator is removed.