How Do You Assess Independent Living Skills?

Add your answer...

1 Answer

Assessing independent living skills in adults and adolescents requires the completion of a scale, called the "Independent Skills Assessment Scale." This scale looks at 11 general areas and is applicable to any age group. The scale can also be used with disabled individuals and can help point to where skills need polishing. Some use the scale to determine if an individual can transition out of a group home or nursing facility into an independent or semi-independent living situation; others use it to measure progress or to determine what special services an individual needs. This article will provide a brief overview of the Independent Skills Assessment Scale, some tips for administering it and information about scoring. Understand that the assessment has 11 main sections. The sections are money management/consumer awareness, food management, personal appearance and hygiene, health, housekeeping, housing, transportation, educational planning, job seeking skills, job maintenance skills, ... more
Thanks for your feedback!

Related Videos

Not the answer you're looking for? Try asking your own question.