Is an uncontested foul in the end zone by a defensive player a score, or does the disc come out to the goal line?

0
Posted

Is an uncontested foul in the end zone by a defensive player a score, or does the disc come out to the goal line?

0

Basically, it depends on what kind of foul it is, that is, whether the foul occurred before or after the receiver got control of the disc. If the defender fouls the receiver while the disc is in the air (or before possession is gained), thereby preventing the receiver from being able to catch the disc, this is considered a “receiving foul” (XVI.H.3.b), and if it’s uncontested, the receiver gets the disc at the spot of the infraction (XVI.H.3.b.2; which in this case, is in the endzone). However, it is not a goal: the defender checks the disc into play right there in the middle of the endzone (X.C), at which point the disc is now “live” (II.R.2), all players are free to move about, and the receiver has to walk the disc out to the goal line, touch it to the ground (XIII.B), and play the disc from there (X.B). If, on the other hand, the defender fouls the receiver after the receiver had already gained possession of the disc, thereby causing the receiver to lose possession of the disc, this

Related Questions