Is guinness beer brewed with meat?
To make Cock-Ale PERIOD: England, 17th century | SOURCE: The Closet Of the Eminently Learned Sir Kenelme Digby Kt. Opened, 1677 | CLASS: Authentic DESCRIPTION: A drink of ale, chicken broth, & sack To make Cock-Ale. Take eight gallons of Ale, take a Cock and boil him well; then take four pounds of Raisins of the Sun well stoned, two or three Nutmegs, three or four flakes of Mace, half a pound of Dates; beat these all in a Mortar, and put to them two quarts of the best Sack: and when the Ale hath done working, put these in, and stop it close six or seven days, and then bottle it, and a month after you may drink it. The only ale with meat in it that I know of, Ive never made it. Yahoo is sensoring the name for a male chicken out of the text.
Don’t be ridiculous. There is, however, a beer clarifying substance used in UK called “finings”. Some of it is made from eggshell, some from fish scales, some from whatever works. Some breweries use it, some don’t. It is the reaon that some British beers have been banned from Germany. Not because they are all veggie, but because they set their purity laws long before such enhancements/treatments were known. Simple answer – Ask Guinness – I’m sure they will tell you. Don’t drink Guinness. Find another excellent alcoholic beverage and enjoy it until such time as your dozy dike friends find out and repeat some other ill-informed rumour. Live in the Himalayas and enjoy nothing other than a mixture of melted snow, unpasteurised goat’s milk and mountainerr’s urine. Get yourself a bloke.
According to the legend back when Guinness was relatively new, the workers went to clean out the tanks. It’s been awhile since they did. When they opened the tanks, they found dozens of dead rats in them. (Good rats) After quietly cleaning them out (very quietly since the black plague was still feared in Europe) People complained that the flavor wasn’t the same. So meat was added to make up for the lack of dead rats. How much of this legend is true is anybody’s guess. I would contact Guinness and ask them about the story, and whether or not they use meat, my guess is, they don’t.