Is Maltodextrin Gluten Free?
Maltodextrin is gluten free. It can be made from a variety of starches, including corn, potato, rice or wheat. However the source does not matter because maltodextrin is such an ultra-purified polysaccharide that the protein is removed, rendering it gluten free. If wheat is used to make maltodextrin, “wheat” will appear on the nutrition label. Even in this case, the maltodextrin would be gluten free.