Is sodium starch glycolate really a potato starch?
Not always. While it is often derived from potatoes, it could be made from any of the starch bases including wheat starch as the base or as an additive. Some companies are now listing sodium starch glycolate as non-specific which is likely a better descriptor for this ingredient when the source is not known or available from a secondary distributor. Note also that this ingredient may be in a product and be described under the Codex Alimentarius of the World Health Organization definition as being gluten-free since it would make up less than 5% of the bulk weight of the finished product. Thus, it would meet the international guidelines for their present definition of gluten-free. It is critical then to note that the designation of gluten-free on a product or mix from a foreign country does not always mean that the product does not include gluten-containing ingredients. In reality, it may only be glutenrestricted (or gluten-containing with the amount unspecified). Q: What do you know abo