Vigo County School Corporation Substitute Teacher Frequently Asked Questions Q: What are the requirements to be a substitute teacher?
• A Limited Criminal History (see below for details) • 60 Credit Hours • Current Indiana Teaching License or Substitute Teaching License • Official Transcript Of Grades • Vigo County School Corporation Application • Application For Substitute Teaching License (if needed) • Application For Teachers’ Retirement Fund • Tax Form W4 and WH4 Filled out. • 2 hour pre-service training class • Cashier’s check or money order for $15.00 (Made out to the State of Indiana) • A Photo ID Badge is required (it is furnished for you free of charge) The 1997 Indiana General Assembly enacted legislation requiring all applicants for licensure or relicensure to submit limited criminal history information to the Indiana Professional Standards Board. The effective date is July 1, 1997, no exceptions. The wording of the statute indicates that each time a person submits an application for a license, he/she is an “applicant”and must present an updated criminal history. You will be pleased to learn that a finger