What are legacy identification numbers?

Add your answer...

1 Answer

Legacy identification numbers are those numbers currently used to identify unique providers. These numbers include the 6-digit Medicare ID number, Unique Physician Identification number (UPIN), 10-digit Ambulatory Surgery Center number (ASC), Supplier Clearinghouse number (NSC), Online Survey Certification and Reporting number (OSCAR) and Durable Medical Equipment supplier number (DME). The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) of 1996 requires issuance of a unique national provider identifier (NPI) to each physician, supplier, and other provider of health care.
This link is broken. Help us!
Thanks for your feedback!

Related Videos

Not the answer you're looking for? Try asking your own question.