What are the State of Colorados trespass laws?
According to Colorado State Law, landowner permission is required prior to entering or crossing private property, except while traveling on public roadways. Two sections of the Colorado Revised Statutes (CRS) apply to trespassing: 1) CRS 18-4-504 relates to “Third Degree Trespass”, which constitutes either a petty offense, misdemeanor, or felony depending upon the classification of the property involved, and the circumstances of the trespass. This statute requires a Court Appearance. Upon conviction, fines can range from $50 to $750 and can include a sentence in county jail. (private property also does not necessarily have to be posted in order for trespass laws to be enforced) 2) CRS 33-6-116 relates to trespass while engages in the act of hunting. The penalty for violating this statue is a fine of $137 and possible jail time. In addition, 20 hunting license “Points” are assessed (when 20 or more “Points” are accumulated during a 5 year period, the state Wildlife Commission may suspen