When using Versioning, what happens if a user with WRITE permissions performs a DELETE operation on an object?
When a user performs a DELETE operation on an object, the most recently written version of that object is no longer retrievable via version-unaware operations. In addition, a Delete Marker is created to represent the fact that a user has performed a DELETE on the object. This Delete Marker is itself given a version id; however it has no data associated with it other than a Creation Date and Owner (whoever performed the DELETE). In essence, this Delete Marker becomes the most recently written version of the object. Subsequent version-unaware operations on this object will retrieve the Delete Marker, resulting in a 404 error, similar to the behavior when Versioning is turned off. However, all versions of that object continue to be preserved in your Amazon S3 bucket and are retrievable by version-aware operations (i.e. operations that specify a key and version id). For example, if you have several versions of an object with the key bird.jpg and you perform a DELETE on that object, then pe