Where does maltodextrin come from?
According to Wikipedia Maltodextrin can be derived from any starch. In the US, this starch is usually rice, corn or potato; elsewhere, such as in Europe, it is commonly wheat. This is important for celiacs, since the wheat-derived maltodextrin can contain traces of gluten. There have been recent reports of celiac reaction to maltodextrin in the United States. This might be a consequence of the shift of corn to ethanol production and its replacement with wheat in the formulation.