1. Easter or Pascha as known to the Eastern Orthodox Church, is a one of the oldest religious holidays observed by different religious denominations like Christians, Catholics, Lutherans, Eastern Orthodox, Protestants and Anglicans. Easter celebrates the third-day resurrection of Jesus, the Son of God after His crucifixion. The holiday symbolizes rebirth and forgiveness. Easter follows the Vernal Equinox, the first Sunday after the first full moon between March 21 and April 25. The date was established in AD 325 by the First Council of Nicaea. In Christian traditions, Easter is often celebrated by reading Easter Bible quotes and Easter egg hunts which symbolizes new life.

    Vernal Equinox

    The Vernal (Spring) Equinox begins on March 20, the first day of Spring, making Easter a Spring holiday. When the Spring Equinox occurs, the sun’s center passes over the Earth’s Equator in the Northern Hemisphere. In the Southern Hemisphere, this moment is known as the Autumnal Equinox. The Spring Equinox is a significant time of year that brings energy, rebirth and renewal to the Earth. All life that lay dormant during the winter solstice starts to resurrect. The Spring Equinox is the perfect time of year to celebrate Easter.

    Good Friday

    For some Christians denominations, the Easter celebration is a four-day event beginning on Good Friday and ends on Easter Monday. Good Friday is recognized as the day Jesus was crucified, taking on the sins of the world. On Good Friday, some Christians begin with fasting and attending a special service at church that consists of the reading of Good Friday Bible verses. Typically, Good Friday verses reminds Christians of God’s unconditional love, His selfless sacrifice of His Son, Jesus to the world for the sins of all mankind and the crucifixion.

    John 3:16 (NKJV)

    “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only Begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”

    I Peter 2:24 (NKJV)

    “Who Himself bore our sins in His own body on the tree, that we, having died to sins, might live for righteousness – by whose stripes you were healed.”

    Mark 8:31 (NKJV)

    “And He began to teach them that the Son of Man must suffer many things, and be rejected by the elders and chief priests and scribes, and be killed, and after three days rise again.”

    The following scriptures gives a biblical account of the Jesus’ betrayal, trials crucifixion and burial:

    • Matthew 26:47 – Matthew 27:61
    • Mark 14:43 – Mark 15:47
    • Luke 22:47 – Luke 23:54
    • John 18:2 – John 19:42


    Lent is a 40-day preparation (excluding Sundays) beginning on Ash Wednesday and ending on Holy Saturday. During Lent, self-discipline (fasting, abstinence, giving up certain luxuries), repentance and praying is exercised to prepare the believer for the final week of Lent – Holy Week. Holy Week includes Palm Sunday, Maundy Thursday (Holy Thursday) and Good Friday. Lent’s 40-day period symbolizes the 40 days Jesus fasted while in the desert. Religious denominations such as Catholics, Lutherans, Methodists, Anglicans and Presbyterians has always observed Lent. However, many Christians like Baptists are beginning to adopt this tradition.

    Easter Sunday

    The four Canonical Gospels – Matthew, Mark, Luke and John – details the resurrection of Jesus Christ. Easter Sunday or Resurrection Sunday commemorates that day. Usually, Easter Sunday receives the highest church attendance of the year regardless the denomination. On Easter Sunday, religious leaders sermons uses some of the following Easter Bible quotes:

    • Matthew 27:27 – Matthew 28:8
    • Mark 15:16 – Mark 16:19
    • Luke 23:26 – Luke 24:35
    • John 19:16 – John 20:30

Leave a Reply