Todays top IRL drivers

Todays top IRL drivers

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.
  1. The Indy Racing League’s IndyCar Series features some of the world’s best open-wheel drivers. Competing from mid-March to early October, these drivers need to be skilled at both oval track racing and road course racing to be successful in the IRL. These are some of the top drivers in the IRL who are looking toward the championship.

    Will Power – this Australian driver began racing go-karts at age 6, but it wasn’t until 13 years later that he wanted to do it professionally. Driving for the legendary Team Penske on the IndyCar circuit, Power is a master of the road course, and earned the 2010 Mario Andretti Championship for points on road courses.

    Dario Franchitti – a short stint in NASCAR didn’t slow this Scotsman down on the open-wheel circuit. The 2010 Indianapolis 500 champion drives for Target Chip Ganassi Racing, and was also the 2007 and 2009 IndyCar champion.

    Scott Dixon – a two-time IndyCar Series champion (2003 and 2008), this New Zealander won the Indy 500 in 2008. Franchitti’s Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammate is highly competitive on oval tracks.

    Helio Castroneves – the Brazilian with the infectious smile, Castroneves is a three-time Indy 500 champion. The Team Penske driver may be best known to non-racing fans as a former “Dancing With The Stars” champion with partner Julianne Hough.

    Tony Kanaan – the 2004 IndyCar champ is thought of by some as the best current driver to never have won an Indy 500. The Andretti Autosport driver was the first driver in a major racing series to complete every lap of every race on his way to the 2004 title.

    Dan Wheldon – racing for Panther Racing, this Englishman won the Indy 500 and IndyCar title in 2005. Wheldon is an IndyCar veteran who has also driven for Andretti Green Racing and Target Chip Ganassi Racing.

Leave a Reply