Top IndyCar drivers of all time

Top IndyCar drivers of all time

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.
  1. The IndyCar Series has been through many changes over the years, but one thing has remained constant: the quality of drivers competing in America’s premier open wheel series. Some of the best drivers in the world have driven IndyCars – these are a few of the best.

    AJ Foyt – “Super Tex” was a seven-time champion when the series was sanctioned by the United States Auto Club (USAC). A versatile driver, he is the only driver ever to win the Indianapolis 500 (which he won four times), the Daytona 500, the 24 Hours of Daytona, and the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Foyt won 67 races and 58 poles in the IndyCar Series, where he is now a team owner.

    Mario Andretti – another versatile driver, Andretti was a four-time series champion; he was also a Formula One champ and an International Race of Champions (IROC) champ. Andretti is one of only two drivers to win races in F1, IndyCar, NASCAR, and World Sportscar Championship. He is currently listed as the oldest driver to win an IndyCar race (53 years, 34 days).

    Rick Mears – Mears is a four-time Indy 500 winner – one of only three drivers to do so – and a three-time IndyCar champ; he also owns the record for pole positions at Indy with six. Mears won all of his races – over two dozen in all – with Penske Racing, where he continues to serve as a consultant.

    Al Unser Sr. – the third of the four-time Indy 500 champions, Unser Sr. also was a two-time IndyCar champ. The oldest driver to win the Indy 500 at 47 years of age, Unser is the only person to have a brother (Bobby) and son (Al Jr.) win the 500 as well.

    Dario Franchitti – one of the best current drivers in the IndyCar Series, Franchitti is a three-time series champ and a two-time Indianapolis 500 winner. Franchitti is also a versatile driver, having raced sports cars, touring cars, and stock cars as well. 

Leave a Reply