Top Open-wheel drivers of all time

Top Open-wheel drivers of all time

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.
  1. Sprint cars are small, powerful, single-seater, open-wheel race cars that run on short oval paved or dirt tracks. The two top sprint car series in the US, USAC and World of Outlaws, have been proving grounds for many of today’s top NASCAR and IndyCar drivers. These drivers are some of the best ever to race sprint cars.

    A.J. Foyt – “Super Tex” has raced almost anything with wheels, but is known as one of the top open-wheel and sprint car drivers of all time. A member of the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame (1988), Foyt was also inducted in the first class of both the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (1989) and the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame (1990). He is a seven-time USAC National Champion, and for his feats in all forms of racing, he was co-winner of the Associated Press’ Driver of the Century award.

    Rich Vogler – Vogler won more than 130 USAC Sprint, Silver Crown, and Midget races – second only to Foyt all-time – and won two USAC Sprint Car titles as well as five Midget titles. Vogler was killed on the last lap of a race he was leading in 1990, just five days before his 40th birthday.

    Steve Kinser – Kinser is a 20-time World of Outlaws (WoO) champion with over 500 “A-main” wins to his credit. He made his first Outlaws start in 1978, and hasn’t slowed down yet.

    Sammy Swindell – a three-time WoO champion, Swindell has over 250 “A-main” wins in the series. Racing for more than 35 years, Swindell has also competed in NASCAR’s top three series (Cup, Nationwide, and Trucks, where he spent the full season in 1995).

    Tony Stewart – Stewart, like his hero Foyt, has raced and won in nearly anything with wheels. His early days in sprint car racing saw him become the first driver to ever win USAC’s “Triple Crown,” winning the Silver Crown, Midget, and Sprint Car titles in 1995. Also a champion in IndyCar and NASCAR’s Cup Series, Stewart today not only owns his own Cup team, but also sprint car and WoO teams, the historic Eldora Speedway in Ohio, and is co-owner of two other tracks.

Leave a Reply